Mauritius becomes a PCT member state

The Government of Mauritius deposited its instrument of accession to the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) on 15 December 2022, making it the 157th member state of the PCT union.  The treaty will enter into force in the Republic of Mauritius on 15 March 2023.  As of this date, applicants will be able to use the PCT system to obtain patent protection in Mauritius, which has made provision for PCT applications in the Mauritian Industrial Property Act of 2019.  Similarly, Mauritian applicants can file applications under the PCT system to seek patent protection in the PCT member states.